Windows

October 14, 2016

(This is dedicated to my dear friends and colleagues whom I have worked with over the years. I am going to miss you all so much!)

I work behind a closed door

In a room without a window

Except occasionally into someone’s soul.

And I hope that I am getting it right

Helping

Healing

Soothing

Just Being.

And there are moments of elation

Of confidence

Competence

When I think that Maybe

I made a difference

I helped or healed

Or simply sat alongside someone’s pain

And that was enough.

But other days it is so hard

And I wonder,

what the hell just happened

In this windowless room?

And I think

I am lost

I am no good.

How can I help

When my own pain and confusion

Need someone to sit alongside them?

And so I wait for an open door

An open heart

And I walk into your office,

which may have a window with a view of a parking lot

Or it may be a closet

But that’s ok because you are in it

Offering support

Wisdom

Helping Healing Soothing.

Just being

My colleague,

My friend.

And you tell me that sometimes

You are lost too

That you are confused

And that’s ok

We will be lost and confused together

You listen

You are good at that.

We talk things through

And maybe even find a solution or two

And we laugh and we cry

And sometimes we are very silly

We sit alongside each other

With the windows to our hearts wide open

And that is enough.

Leave a Reply

rhondastephens

To Catch A Falling Cactus

Long Haul Trekkers

Adventure Travel with Dogs

donuts, dresses and dirt

living a well-tended life... at any age

HeartBeats

Monthly Tips for EFT Couples Therapists

Bonnie Rae

simple days with bonnie rae.

Ferocious Foodie

One man's brutally honest opinion about all things edible.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

Empty House, Full Mind

Views of life from the empty nest

RobSwihart.com

Life By Design ... One Day At A Time

World Cup 2014

welcome! Please contribute your opinions about world cup

The New Elizabeth

Reinventing Myself

PeanutBubba & Fluff

The "just for your entertainment" tales of mommyhood

Lessons Learned

Life has taught me well

WriterMason

Mermaid on a bicycle

3kids2cats1divorce

Muddling through with humor, grace, and hairballs

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

