Blizzard

February 2, 2015

For days they warned us

That the snow would fall

That the winds would blow

That the world would come to an end.

 

Their forecasts

Their stupid forecasts

Kept us at home

To keep us safe

 

But they kept us away

From you.

 

And finally the snow did fall

And the winds did blow

But not so much

And the world did not come to an end

 

Except it did.

Because the phone rang

And the doctor said you were gone

You had slipped away

Quietly

Peacefully

As the snow came down

And the winds blew

And our tears fell.

 

They say more snow is coming

It is so cold

And I cannot have your arms around me

I cannot put my arms around you

But you will be my blanket

I will wrap you around me

every day of my life

and I will be warm

and I will be loved

we will be loved

by you

forever.

 

6 Responses to “Blizzard”

  1. Gerri said

    I am so glad I was able to be there yesterday and to hear you deliver this beautiful poem in person. It was magnificent, just like your mother, and just like you.

  2. Mary B said

    I can relate to this one. It was January 2010. With blizzards and closed roads. I was unable to see my father for the last time. In my father’s wisdom, his last request was that we not have services right away. Instead, we were to bury him immediately, and wait for a sunny day to have his memorial. So we waited until May, which would have been his 83rd birthday, and everyone was able to come pay their respects.

  3. I am so sorry for the loss of your mother. What you have written is a beautiful tribute. This brought tears to my eyes. I will keep you and your family in my prayers.

  4. I am also sorry for your loss. These words – so beautiful, so heartfelt.

  5. Out of such loss came a beautiful, heartfelt, universal tribute. Thank you for sharing it with us, even in your grief.

Leave a Reply

rhondastephens

To Catch A Falling Cactus

Long Haul Trekkers

Adventure Travel with Dogs

donuts, dresses and dirt

living a well-tended life... at any age

HeartBeats

Monthly Tips for EFT Couples Therapists

Bonnie Rae

simple days with bonnie rae.

Ferocious Foodie

One man's brutally honest opinion about all things edible.

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

Empty House, Full Mind

Views of life from the empty nest

RobSwihart.com

Life By Design ... One Day At A Time

World Cup 2014

welcome! Please contribute your opinions about world cup

The New Elizabeth

Reinventing Myself

PeanutBubba & Fluff

The "just for your entertainment" tales of mommyhood

Lessons Learned

Life has taught me well

WriterMason

Mermaid on a bicycle

3kids2cats1divorce

Muddling through with humor, grace, and hairballs

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

